If you build it…

I have decided to give Sims 4 a try.  I’ll admit that when it first came out, I wasn’t enthused.  Everything just seemed like a regression to Sims 2.  All the things I loved about Sims 3 game play (not content) was gone from the game.  It didn’t feel like a new version of the game.  It felt like Sims 2 with better graphics.

Anyway, it’s taken me awhile, but I found a new challenge that I like.  Called The Build Newcrest Legacy Challenge.  It is very similar to the DitFT challenge from Sims 3.  I don’t think I’m going to write as complicated and intricate of a story for this challenge.  It takes me too long and a lot of planning to do that.  Instead, I think I’m going to limit each generation to 3 parts or less.  So, I have the first part of the first generation already done.

07-13-15_11-46 AMThis is Eden Gardener.  She is the founder of my new legacy titled “The Garden of Eden”.  The goal of the first generation is to build a park for Newcrest.  You’ll have to read the story to see how Eden gets on.

About hrootbeer

I am a teacher, writer, rpg player, and Sim addict. I am have two adult children, 3 dogs, and 1 husband.
This entry was posted in Author's notes. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to If you build it…

  1. zoxell says:

    I’ve been very hesitant about Sims 4. I think it would be really difficult to go back to instanced lots rather than the open world. How has your experience been with 4 so far?

    • hrootbeer says:

      Actually, it has been the most difficult thing. I have spent almost a year NOT playing the Sims 4. I only started again because I was bored and this challenge intrigued me. The game grows on me, but there are still things I think Sims 4 regressed on.

  2. I feel pretty much the same about 4, and haven’t started playing it again. I like the idea of a legacy, but it feels too awkward to me, trying to do a story without toddlers. *shrug* I did start a new some 3 legacy, though, just for fun. I’ve missed the playing and writing!

    So are the Fields done? I could take that last chapter as an ending, if I had to. I’m sure I’ll be over to read the new stuff. I truly enjoy your writing. 🙂

    • hrootbeer says:

      Yeah. I wanted write more for the ending of Twinbrook Fields, but I just couldn’t get it done and the game hates me and my machine. Sims 4 plays better for me. I don’t like it as much, but I never have problems. My machine is old. I got it just before Sims 3 came out and have put a few upgrades into it, but not many. At this point a new computer is in order, but I can’t afford it.

Leave a comment