Candice Fields, Criminal: Chapter 5

Author’s Note: This is a short chapter.  I started writing this and intended it to be half again as long, but when I got to the end, I realized that I needed to make this a two-part chapter.  The next part will be out in a few days.  I have to play a few scenes and build a new set for Candice in jail.

P.S.  Thank you to Orangeplumbob for giving me a spark of an idea for how to use the great evil shot I took of JP.  Bet she didn’t think her comment about him being a vampire would make me go, hmmmmm.

P.S.S.  I didn’t make the chapel.  It was created by harichansaribou and is called Little Wedding Chapel.

Screenshot-130

John-Paul and I took our places inside the wedding arch, and I was keenly aware of my sister’s presence in the chapel.  She and the rest of the guests took their seats and we got down to the business of getting married.  If you asked me, it could happen fast enough.

Screenshot-134Screenshot-135

Everyone ahhh’d as JP put the ring on my finger.  I had to bite the inside of my cheek to manufacture tears so that I’d appear choked up instead of on the verge of laughter.  The look in JP’s eyes was so blissful and happy.  He was really into this.  He thought this was a real marriage.  A love match, no less.

Screenshot-137Screenshot-143

The other person who seemed pleased about the wedding was Malcolm.  He was our only attendant which made him feel pretty special, I suppose.  He also seemed excited to meet his aunt Glenna.  JP introduced them before the wedding reception.  Malcolm seemed fascinated by my sister who was so much like me and yet so different.  I overheard them talking about “her daughter, Lila” and I smiled to myself.  So Glenna thought of Lila as hers.  Good.

Screenshot-141

I met Sunwon, my sister’s partner at the reception as well.  Glenna introduced us just before we cut the cake.  Sunwon didn’t look happy to be at our wedding.  I wondered how much Glenna had told her about me.  Did she resent me?  Did she fear that Glenna wouldn’t want to marry her now that we were in contact again?  I found myself hoping that the girl hated my guts.

I was having a second piece of cake when I got to talk to Sunwon alone for the first time.

“So, how long have you known Glenna?” I asked even though I knew the answer.  I’d read it in the papers.  Sunny, as she insisted I call her because we were going to be “sisters” soon, proceeded to tell me how she met Glenna when she’d had my name tattooed on her arm.  It was a heart tattoo similar to the one I’d gotten on my arm.

“That’s quite a coincidence,” I murmured.  “I suppose it’s because we’re twins.  Twins are so close.  Even when we’ve been separated, we’re still thinking the same.”  I gave Sunny a nasty fake smile.

“She missed you a lot.  She looked for you.”

“I missed her, too, but I didn’t want to be found.”  That shut the girl up.

“Well, Glenna is happy.  We’re getting married, too, you know.”  Sunny was persistent in trying to get to know me.  I decided to save her the effort.

“I’m sure my sister was happy, but now that we’ve reconnected, I wonder if she might want something more.   When I saw her today, I was reminded that Glenna was the other half of myself.  It was like I’d grown a limb back.  I could tell she felt the same way.  I think it would be hard for us to separate again.”

“What are you trying to say?” Sunny looked at me.  I saw that she had crows feet around her eyes.  Her purple hair dye made her look cheap because she was too old to pull it off.  I felt sorry for her.

“Oh, just that maybe Glenna will want to stay with me now that she’s seen me again.  She was happy, but…”  I shrugged.

“Glenna loves me.”  I shrugged again as if to say, ‘so you think’.  I could tell it infuriated Sunny.  She finished her drink and left me sitting at the bar.

Screenshot-123Screenshot-148

I got up and followed her.  I didn’t let her get far before I confronted her again.

“You don’t really like me do you, Miss Cho?” I asked her from behind.  She turned to face me.

“No, I don’t.  You left your family, your daughter and twin sister.  They were all worried for you and afraid that you had died.  No.  I don’t like you and, more importantly, I don’t respect you.”

“Who are you to judge me?  You don’t know anything about me.  I don’t care about your respect.”

“You should care about Glenna’s and Lila’s.”  I could see that she felt like I should be upset when she brought up the girl’s name.  She thought she could hurt me by using it.

“My sister and her daughter did just fine without me.  Glenna will understand that I had to do what I had to do.  And the girl will accept what happened if her mother tells her to.”

“You aren’t Lila’s mother!”

“Neither are you!”

Screenshot-149

She slapped me.  The bitch actually hit me on my wedding day.  I saw red.

Screenshot-151Screenshot-152Screenshot-153Screenshot-154

It happened in a blur.  Dancers were all around us and didn’t seem to notice what was happening until I roared in rage.  I heard a photographer snap a picture behind me and I whirled on him to snatch it away.

Screenshot-157

Everyone was looking at me and I heard JP cackling gleefully in the background.  I think it was his maniacal laughter that brought me down from my rage.  What did he have to laugh about?  I’d just killed someone.  On my wedding day.  OUR wedding day.  And he was laughing.

I glared at him, but he kept laughing and saying, “I knew!  I knew!”

Screenshot-158

And that’s when I knew.  He’d invited her.  Sunwon Cho was invited to my wedding, our wedding, by JP.  He’d known that I’d be upset by that.  He’d been hoping something would happen.

I looked through the crowd of wedding guests who were crying and gawking at Sunwon’s fallen form and I saw my sister.  Her face was stricken and she wasn’t looking at me.

Screenshot-161Screenshot-156

The sound of JP’s laughter drowned out all other noises and the look on Glenna’s face as she stared at her fiancée blocked out all other sights.  I just stood frozen holding my knife and standing over Sunwon’s body.

Screenshot-164

This was not my plan, I thought over and over as I heard the sounds of sirens in the distance getting closer.  It wasn’t supposed to go like this.

Royce is the one who took the knife from my hand and dropped it on the ground.  He took me by the shoulders and walked me away from the scene of the murder I’d committed.

“Don’t worry,” he said.  “It was self-defense.”

“I killed her.”

“She hit you.  Self-defense.”  He looked me in the eye and said it again.  I understood.  That would be my plea.

And I’d probably get off, too.  The Pirates had many connections in government and on the police force.  I might do a little time, but I’d get off eventually.

It occurred to me that this was the first person I had killed.  I was a known thug and heavy hitter as a Pirate, but I’d never actually killed.  I’d maimed, dismembered, and made others wish they were dead, but I hadn’t actually followed through with it.

This would probably make the organization look at me in a new light.  Maybe a better light.  Perhaps I could turn this into something positive for myself.  And then once I got out, I’d use my new standing to fix what I had done.

I sat in the police car in hand cuffs and thought, “New plan,” as the cop drove me away from the scene of my wedding.

New plan.  Glenna would forgive me.  She had to.

About hrootbeer

I am a teacher, writer, rpg player, and Sim 3 addict.
This entry was posted in Generation Seven: Criminal. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Candice Fields, Criminal: Chapter 5

  1. Emy says:

    Holy crap. *_*

    Poor Glenna. 😦 I can’t even imagine what she’s feeling right now. And wow, Candy had a glimmer of guilt there for a moment.

    Arrested on your wedding day… definitely not how that day’s supposed to end. XD

    Great chapter. 🙂

  2. Wow. That was just EVIL. Muwhahaha! And JP laughing – I sparked a darkness inside of you, H. I don’t know if I should be proud or a bit concerned lol. I can’t wait to see what happens now. I can’t see Glenna ever forgiving Candy. And I feel so bad for Glenna. Hopefully something good will come for the girl after this.

    • hrootbeer says:

      Nope. This is the EVIL generation.

      Did I ever tell you that I always liked playing the evil characters? I was a necromancer in Everquest. I LOVED draining life and then, eventually, creating skeleton minions out of the dead. In WoW I played a Horde Rogue. My weapon of choice was a garotte. Something satisfying about backstabbing your victim in such a way that he is stunned and then garotting him with a steel wire. Muhahaha!

      Sorry. Slight side track 🙂 Actually, I think I use these things to get my aggression out.

      • Wow, just wow. Though I’m not surprised by this news about you. I knew there was something about you that I liked. It’s that we both pride at taking our anger out on other unexpected victims. Muwhahahaha. I can’t wait for the Evil gen for the Rains. Gonna be fun!

  3. StyxLady says:

    :O
    D:
    Poor Glenna! I wasn’t expecting things to go down like that at all, but it totally makes sense. Can’t wait to see what happens next!!

  4. Moirae says:

    Geez, how have I missed this story?! I’ve read back a couple of entries and love how delightfully evil Candy is. Yum.

  5. Tipix says:

    Oh, shame! I had a feeling something would happen to Sunny, but what a slap in the face for Glenna this has got to be. Cannot wait to see how this all ends.

  6. Carebear728 says:

    Candice!! You killed the love of your sister’s life! Poor Glenna, Poor Lila! I can’t wait for the next chapter

  7. kris1079 says:

    Wow!! This is just so evil!! I did not see that coming…but it’s not entirely unexpected considering Candice’s jealousy about Glenna’s relationship with Sunny. I just feel so bad for Glenna and Lila and Sunny’s brother too. And JP just pulling all the strings the whole time…he is awful!! I like that Candice thought she was manipulating the situation when JP was actually orchestrating this whole scene behind her back. I am so mad that I’m caught up with this story because I want to know what happens next!!!

    • hrootbeer says:

      If I can get my game to cooperate with me, I hope to have the next chapter out tomorrow. It’s being difficult because there are a lot of stages I’m using for what comes next. It’ll be worth the wait (I hope.)

  8. Deeds says:

    Candice! How could you?! Wait. No. Never mind. I can see perfectly how she could kill Sunny. I’m just surprised that, despite her fury, she didn’t think about what Glenna would think. I mean I didn’t expect Candy to say “Oh I’m killing my twins’ fiancee” but I anticipated something like “What’s my sister going to think about me killing someone in front of her?” Y’know? Ah well. Candy’s too cool for that kind of thinking. :p

    Can’t wait to see what else you have in store!

Leave a Reply

