Help one of my students

I think most people who read my blog know that I am a high school teacher.  I teach Language Arts, which for American high schools means a combination of literature and composition.  I am also the adviser for my school’s annual or yearbook.

Sometimes I get very frustrated with my job.  It involves long hours for little pay and even less recognition.  But at times, I am reminded why I do what I do.  It isn’t for pay or accolades (though those are both nice), it is for the students whose lives I touch every day.

One of my students is involved in a scholarship competition on the Internet.  She wrote a 300 word essay about the teacher or mentor who impacted her the most.  To win the scholarship, her essay has to be chosen from a popular vote.

This is a deserving student.  She has very little money for college, which is why she resorted to a scholarship of this nature…at this point, she’ll take whatever money comes her way.  She has a 3.8 GPA, takes Advanced Placement classes, and other difficult curriculum like my College Prep Research class she’s currently in now.

I’ve known this girl since she was a sophomore.  I liked her then and was impressed with her writing which is what prompted me to ask her to join my yearbook class.  She has been in that class ever since and I’ve watched her confidence and poise grow over the years.  I am extremely proud of this student, and even if she hadn’t written about me in this essay, I still would be writing to all of my readers to ask you to click the following link and help this girl by voting.

She deserves to go to the school she wants to go to, but right now finances are a concern.  Please vote by following this link here.

Thank you.  I know it would mean a lot to her.  It means a lot to me.

About hrootbeer

I am a teacher, writer, rpg player, and Sim 3 addict.
This entry was posted in Author's notes. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Help one of my students

  1. I voted and read the essay. It’s really cool to hear about teachers that are that committed to her students. I had only one teacher like that but I never found my passion until college. I wish I had been pushed more by my own English teacher like you did. Your an amazing teacher H!

  2. kris1079 says:

    That’s awesome that you’re doing this to help out your student. Read and voted…it would be great if she could get a scholarship to pursue her dreams. Sounds like you’ve made quite an impact in her life…bravo to you and all the other awesome teachers out there!!

  3. Morbid_Mew says:

    Read and voted! I send her my best wishes and the best of luck. 🙂

  4. StyxLady says:

    Voted and passed the message along! I hope she wins. 🙂 Sounds like she could really use this!

    • hrootbeer says:

      Thanks for passing the message along. The highest person has like 2000 votes, so it’s a long shot, but any shot at 3K is worth it. She really could use the money. Her parents won’t be helping her at all and she’s not getting the greatest aid packages except if her parents take out a loan.

  5. tipix says:

    Voted and passed the link along as well. I hope your student manages the top 20, there are some insanely high vote counts on some of those essays. Best of luck!

  6. kaldresh says:

    Happy to do it, hrootbeer. Best of luck to her.

Leave a Reply

