Sims Groundhog Day

I don’t know what to do.  I’ve had the opportunity to play all week long, but my game has been spectacularly uncooperative.  I managed to go to France and get Aaron and Felecia married.I even managed to get enough shots to stage Jeri’s “movie”.  Then, I went back to Twinbrook and got Aaron and Felecia moved into their own place.  Everything was back to normal…or so I thought.

But I’ve been playing the same Thursday over and over in my game.  I keep getting Error 12s!  I don’t know what to do.  There is some major corruption somewhere.  I did manage to get my game saved once, last night, so that I have the heir exactly where I want her to be at this point, but I can’t seem to get any farther.

So I’m torn as to what to do.  I am thinking of starting a new version of Twinbrook and bringing my family over to it.  I think I’ll have to save their house and them into the library to accomplish this, but at least it will be a fresh save.  I might have to tweak some relationships.

But then all of the Field relations in Twinbrook will be gone.  This upsets me a bit.  I don’t want to lose Hannah and her kids, Aaron and Felecia, and Gwen (who was Mickey’s cousin…her son has a future with the Fields if things go the way I want them to).  I have the Porter mod, which I will probably use, but I feel that if I add too many of the Fields, I will corrupt the game again.

Another of my options is to end Jeri’s generation and move on to the next one.  The heir will be leaving Twinbrook and moving to one of the other towns anyway.  I’m at the point that I was going to make this move and show how it affected Jeri.  But maybe with all of this corruption I should just leave that part out.

What do you think?  I am not sure I can save this current version of the family.

About hrootbeer

I am a teacher, writer, rpg player, and Sim 3 addict.
This entry was posted in Author's notes. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sims Groundhog Day

  1. Honestly, I wouldn’t know. I would get the minimum screenshots, and then write the rest. Good Luck!

  2. hrootbeer says:

    Addendum: It might be video card/power supply related. After payday next week we are going to get the power supply. We have a new video card, but the current power supply is too small to run it safely. We think that this may be the whole problem…the video card is stressing out the power supply and thus causing the game to crap out or give an error 12, which is a video memory issue.

    And my video card is failing…which we conclude is due to the fact that it’s been running on too little power and fan support.

  3. If I were you I try using the porter on only the family members that matter. You can also use MC to fix relations. I hate error 12 and 16 I was plagued with them back when T.J was a teen. (When he got picked up by the cops going to the gym – yup I replayed that night 4 times before I used the porter mod). If anything just move the family members you want and fix the relations with MC. Don’t give up on Jeri though.

    • hrootbeer says:

      This is the option I like the best. I think I’ll wait until I get the new power supply just to see if it’s really necessary. That means no update this weekend like I wanted. I am so sick of playing Thursday over and over that I am giving it a rest.

  4. tipix says:

    When I’ve come across similar problems with the Chouettes I’ve usually given in and spent the days that it takes the get the game to do what I want – even though it postpones updates and actually playing further. Especially if fixing part of your computer system is required. You won’t be truly happy with how the story turns out until you do.

    At one point simply starting a new save file just didn’t cut it and I had to save each sim into the simbin, recreate them in CAS, move them into a fresh ‘hood and spend days with each distant relative regaining their skills, jobs, relationships, etc before I was finally at a point close enough to where I needed it to be. Thankfully there are a lot of Mods that make this easier. And it was definitely worth it. Playing has been a breeze (except for little blips) since then. If all else fails, I’d suggest giving that a try. It helps remove a lot of the bugs that seem to attach themselves to your family over the generations.

    Regardless, I hope you manage to come to a happy conclusion to your game issues. I know we’ll enjoy whatever transition into the next generation that you provide!

    • hrootbeer says:

      I hope everyone likes the evil plot line. I want everyone to enjoy the conclusion of Jeri’s story…which is supposed to be at least 4 more updates. I have quite a plot planned for Jeri which I can’t do unless I fix this glitch 😦 I agree with you. I won’t be happy if I rush through Jeri’s story. I’ve worked hard to establish this “Bio-pic” of her life as a famous actress. It would be a terrible shame if I don’t let it play to it’s conclusion. It’s not like the plot has derailed. It’s going exactly where I want it to (for once).

Leave a Reply

