Unintentional delay

I am grateful every day for Twallan’s mods.  Because of his Portrait Panel mod, I will be able to do the “Have 10 children” wish (worth 10,000 points for a reason!).  But I’ve realized a few things about the mod…even though you can have more than 8 people in your household, you can’t adopt kids because the agency says you have the max allowable Sims in your household.  Also, you can’t have multiples.  I did EVERYTHING to have twins or triplets and only one baby came because even though I can add another Sim, when you hit 8, the game still thinks you’re full.

Must be baby number 6...or is that 7?

That being said, I am working on Jeri’s story.  It’s more difficult than I thought it would be to juggle her career with her growing family.  It’s even harder now that the older Fields are dying.  Virginia is an important part of the movie Jeri wants to make, but I’m afraid she’ll be dead long before I can get to that part of the story.  I have a plan for if that happens, but I don’t want it to.  So far, only Rhonda and Virginia are left out of Mickey’s generation.

Another part of the problem is that when the evil child aged up to teen, I have had to take pictures for that generation.  That means I’m constantly pausing and taking screenshots not only for Jeri, but also for the next heir.  It’s slowed things down considerably.  I am also trying to accomplish the stipulation in Gen. 6 for going to all or at least some children’s weddings.  That means I have to actually romance some Sims for them.  This normally isn’t a problem, but the more Sims I add beyond 8, the more I have to control!  People think I’m crazy for doing 8 Sims…just wait!

"Wove, twue wove...that dweam wifin a dweam..."

On a side note, originally I had planned for Phillip and Jeri to have a stormy relationship that didn’t withstand her fame.  I had the divorce planned from the minute they started flirting with each other.  As soon as I found out he was a grumpy Sim.  However, he’s never grumpy around Jeri.  They are always kissing, hugging, and flirting autonomously.  He is constantly rolling romantic wishes about her.  How could I come between their love like that?  So, instead I changed my plans to the huge family.  I figured if he wanted to woohoo with her so badly, I might as well make use of it!

So, please bare with the delay.  I have a certain part I want to write about in the next update.  I’m almost there.  I think maybe on Sunday I’ll have what I need.  In the meantime enjoy this image of the family playing in the backyard.

An afternoon outdoors.

P.S.  I am absolutely thrilled with the next expansion pack and that it will be available so soon.  I want to pre-order my copy, but I’m hoping they will do a discount like they’ve done in the past.  I don’t muchly care about having pets, but I’ve often bemoaned the lack of activity and the lack of stages for young adults and teens.  University was my favorite of the Sims 2 expansions as well as Night Life.  I am hoping that Generations meets or maybe exceeds my expectations for it.

 

 

About hrootbeer

I am a teacher, writer, rpg player, and Sim 3 addict.
This entry was posted in Author's notes. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Unintentional delay

  1. tipix says:

    Best of luck working your story around the game, I’m sure whatever the result the rest of Jeri’s story will be a thrill to read.

    As for the 10 children, have you given thought to using AwesomeMod for that feature temporarily? You could potentially disable most of its features to solely use the overstuffed household option, and only use it for while Jeri is pregnant/ giving birth. I’m unsure if Twallan’s Portrait Panel Mod has additional features that you enjoy, but I have successfully had multiples in an overstuffed household using AwesomeMod. Have yet to try adopt, however. Best of luck, and I look forward to seeing how Jeri’s future plays out with the challenges at hand.

    • hrootbeer says:

      Awesomemod and my computer didn’t care for each other. I know I could load it temporarily, but I am not sure I want to mess with it. Maybe I didn’t do enough to cause multiples….worth another try. I have 7 children (minus Aaron, who doesn’t count for Phillip). I do need to adopt a girl, but I can do that later.

  2. audiobebop says:

    Maybe (and this is just a suggestion) you could move some of the child Sims out, turn off Twallan’s story progression, have the kids, then move the other children back in? I don’t know if that would be optimal, but it’s just a thought I came up with.

    And I’m super-excited for Generations as well, I can’t wait for it to come out. 😀

  3. Morbid_Mew says:

    BEST of luck with your game! I can only imagine how hard it must be juggling everything. I hate full households for that reason alone, especially when I’ve got plans for specific sims.

    Oh and University was my absolute favorite as was the dating features in Night Life. I really can’t wait for Generations either 🙂

Leave a Reply

