Kindra Fields, Business Woman: Chapter 9

Screenshot-156

I couldn’t believe it when Caleb kissed me.  He just grabbed me and then his lips were on mine and his tongue was in my mouth and his hands were everywhere and I found that my hands were everywhere, too.  Then we were on the bed and he’d taken off my jacket and his own.

Screenshot-163

There was a lot more kissing and touching and more clothing dropped on the floor.   And then we were under the covers and my universe exploded in a sparkle of imaginary hearts and little firework pops.

I don’t remember what I said that started this.  I don’t remember if I said anything more than Caleb’s name while it was happening.  I just remember the sensations.  Afterwards, we fell into the exhausted sleep of the satisfied.

Screenshot-166Screenshot-167

The next morning was awkward.  We ate left overs for breakfast because Ronald and Alana had stayed over night at a hotel and neither of us was a fantastic cook.

Caleb had gotten up early and was already showered and dressed, which made me feel even more awkward.  I wasn’t sure what to say.  I knew I had to say something.

“About last night…” I began.

“I’m sorry,” Caleb said.

I didn’t finish.  What was he sorry about?  That it happened?  I wasn’t sure what that meant.

“I didn’t mean for it to happen,” Caleb added.  “It’s just…”

I raised an eyebrow.  “Just what?”

Caleb rubbed the back of his neck.  It was a gesture that I recognized as one he always made when he was embarrassed.

“Just that I didn’t mean to attack you like that.  It wasn’t very…um…suave or romantic.”

I was incredulous.  Caleb thought he had ‘attacked’ me.  He was embarrassed because we had gone at each other like animals.  I couldn’t help but laugh.  Caleb started to blush and he apologized again.

“I’m sorry.  I don’t mean to laugh.  It’s just that I thought it was one of the most romantic nights of my life,” I reassured him.

“Really?”  I nodded.  “You don’t think I was a little too rough?”

I laughed again.  He didn’t know what ‘rough’ really was like, but I did.  Suddenly my mood sobered.  I pictured Jack in my mind again.  I shook my head a little.  I was trying to clear Jack’s image out of my head, but Caleb misunderstood.

“I’m glad,” he said.  “I wouldn’t want to hurt you or do anything you didn’t like.”

Screenshot-168

“I don’t think you were too rough,” I said finally.  I stood up and grabbed his hands.  I looked into his eyes.  “You were perfect.”

I probably should have taken this opportunity to tell him about Jack.  But did I really want to?  I hesitated.  I think Caleb could tell I wanted to say something, but he didn’t push me.  I just couldn’t do it.  I looked into Caleb’s eyes and I knew that he loved me.  He really did.  It scared me.

Did I love him back?  I wasn’t sure I could love anyone like that.  Jack had broken me.  I didn’t know how to stop being afraid of getting hurt.  If Caleb found out about everything, he might lose that look.  I liked Caleb.  I was attracted to him.  Maybe I loved him, too, but I couldn’t say it or anything else.  So instead I just kissed him.

“You don’t know how long I’ve wanted to do that,” Caleb said.

“Me, too.  I’ve been thinking about it for weeks now,” I said.  He just laughed.

“I’ve got you beat.  I’ve wanted to do that since my freshman year of high school.”

“Oh,” was all I said, and I kissed him again because I didn’t want to face the love in his eyes and my own confused feelings and unspoken confessions.

Screenshot-174Screenshot-177

I got promoted that day at work.  I should have been ecstatic, but I could only think about Caleb.  Katrina was still my boss, but now I was a division manager just like she was.  As division manager, my celebrity increased.  Suddenly I found myself stopped by paparazzi outside of the office around the juice bar.

It was strange to be considered someone photo-worthy, when all I did was work for BBBC.  I think Ronald, Alana, and Caleb deserved more fame than I did.

Screenshot-171

I couldn’t keep my relationship with Caleb silent, so as soon as I got the chance, I told Ronald about our wild night.

“Whoa!” Ronald said excitedly as he crashed imaginary cars on the computer. “I wondered if he’d ever get the balls to make a move on you.”

“What?  You knew he liked me?”

“Duh.  He’s liked you forever!  I seem to remember telling you that back when we were in high school.”

“But that was high school, Ron!  I didn’t know that he still liked me.”

“Kindra, the dude’s totally in love with you.”

“I know.”  My words caused my brother to stop playing the video game and really look at me.

“Why are you so upset by that.  It should make you deliriously happy.  You love him; he loves you.  What’s not to be happy about?”

“You think I love him?”

“Don’t you?”

“I don’t know.  There are things you guys don’t know about…things that I don’t really want to tell him.  How can I love him and keep secrets from him?”

“You can’t.  How bad can these things really be?  We’ve been with you for almost a year.  You were here alone for a year or so…how bad could things have really been?”

“Bad.”

Screenshot-35

I told Ron all about Jack and the others.  I confessed about Charlie, too.  When I was done, I was crying and Ronald gave me a brotherly hug.

“Don’t keep this a secret, Kin.  Tell Caleb.  He’ll understand.  He loves you and won’t stop just because you were with other men before him.  He’ll even understand about Charlie.  I can’t promise that he won’t want to kill Jack, but he’ll understand.”

I hiccupped and said, “You think so?”

“Yeah.”

Screenshot-179

So I told him.  I told him everything the next night after work.  To say he was shocked was a bit of an understatement.  As Ronald predicted, Caleb wanted to go out and kill Jack Osborne.

“Do you hate me?” I asked at the end.

“How could I hate you?  Do you know how long I’ve wanted to be with you?”

I nodded.  “9th grade.”

“Yeah.  9th grade.  I won’t lie and say I’m not disappointed, but I can’t hate you,” Caleb said.  You went through something terrible.  You survived it, but it took some time for all of the wounds to heal.  I don’t like it, but I understand.”  Then he added, “Are you sure I can’t go back to Twinbrook and punch Jack Osborne in the face?  Break his perfect nose so that girls will think he’s ugly from now on?”

I laughed.  “No.  Jack is a jerk, but I have put that behind me.  I’ve moved on.”

“Do you think you could be with me?  I mean like a girlfriend…steady?”

I nodded.  I couldn’t trust myself to speak.  Caleb still loved me.  Even after everything, he wanted to be with me.

“I love you Kindra.”

“I love you, too, Caleb.”  And I believed it, too.  Ron was right.  I was totally in love with this man.

Screenshot-181

A few nights later, I was alone again in the apartment with Caleb.  I wasn’t sure where Alana and Ronald went.  Caleb just told me that they were staying late at work and wouldn’t be back until we were asleep.

“So we’re alone again?” I asked flirtatiously.  “Whatever will we do?”  Caleb just chuckled.

“I can think of a few things,” he said.  “But first want to hear a  new song I wrote? I wrote it for you.”

“Ok.”  It wasn’t exactly what I thought we would do, but I always liked listening to Caleb and it was the first time he offered to serenade me…and with a song he wrote just for me, too.

He started to play and then sang:

Kindra.  You’re the girl for me.

You’re the star on my Christmas tree.

You’re the sun in my sky,

The only reason why!

You’re the one I want to see

Smiling, laughing, looking at me.

Oh oh oh, Kindra!

Your smile makes my day,

Your laugh takes my breath away.

The wrinkle of your nose,

The green nail polish on your toes,

I love everything about you–

I can’t live without you!

Oh oh oh, Kindra!

Kindra.  You’re the girl for me.

We will be ha-appy!

Please say you’ll marry me.

You put a smile on my face.

You make my heart race.

Say yes.  Oh oh oh!

You’re the girl for me.

Please say you’ll marry me.

We will be ha-appy!

Say yes.  Say yes.

Of course, I said yes.

Screenshot-28Screenshot-30Screenshot-27

Author’s note:

I wrote the song myself.  Obviously there is no music.  I had a bit of a tune in my head, but I am not a musician by any stretch of the imagination.  I don’t know how to put lyrics to music.  If I did, there’d probably be some a chorus or refrain that repeats some of the lines.  I was just pleased I could make the whole thing rhyme.  When I write poems typically they don’t rhyme.  I prefer free verse.

Anyway, I hadn’t intended for Kindra to be proposed to by Caleb in this way.  The song just came to me and it was so perfect that I had to do it.  However, I had played ahead in my game, so I had to go back to an old save and stage the proposal.  That’s why their outfits look slightly different.  I hadn’t saved the styles that I had created for Kindra and I had forgotten that Caleb was in a different jacket when he was playing the guitar.

So, in my game they are not engaged, just going steady.  I’ll have to change that because I like this better than my original plan.  This generation is really going out of my control.  I need to stop planning things and just let them come to me!

About hrootbeer

I am a teacher, writer, rpg player, and Sim 3 addict.
This entry was posted in Generation Two: Business. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Kindra Fields, Business Woman: Chapter 9

  1. tipix7 says:

    Aw, cute proposal! I’m so glad things have finally worked out between these two, Caleb’s a very persistent guy! I really like this ending, thrilled you decided to go with it.
    Does marrying your brother’s co-worker count for objectives? I think it should.

    • hrootbeer says:

      Me too! I’ll add it into the points page…I’ve made a few observations of what should count. I don’t really care about the points anyway, but I like meeting objectives.

      Glad you liked it. I was very pleased with it.

  2. StyxLady says:

    I loved the song! It was adorable, and I don’t see how that wouldn’t melt any woman’s heart. 🙂 I didn’t even notice the clothes were different. I was too caught up in the story. 🙂

    I’m glad Kindra told him everything. I bet she feels a lot better now that she’s not keeping all that to herself anymore.

  3. Terra says:

    Awh,t hat’s such an adorable way to propose! I’m glad Kindra told Caleb everything, it’s important that he know. Adn they’ll be a wonderful couple together. I loves it =D

  4. Awwwww. He proposed! So adorable. I love Caleb. I think he should go back to Twinbrook to take out Jack, but thats just me. And you really can’t tell with the outfits either. I never noticed till you said something.

    And don’t worry your not the only one that plans ahead. You should see my plans in my head. And I haven’t played in a while!!!

  5. zoxell says:

    Very touching! I’m glad Kindra didn’t hold back telling Caleb about her exploits. I also like seeing the underdog come out on top! Great job!

Leave a Reply

