The Twinbrook Fields: Prologue

Screenshot

My name is Les Fields. My parents and I just moved to Twinbrook.  We had a farm in Riverview, but we fell on some tough times.  Farming in Riverview just isn’t what it used to be, you know?  This has been a very difficult time for my parents.  Dad worked himself to the bone on the Riverview farm, but there was nothing he could do—nothing we could do.  Toward the end, I was working on the farm, too, trying to salvage whatever I could.

Screenshot-3 Screenshot-2

These are my parents, Chester and Loretta Fields.  You can see that Dad’s trying real hard to look at the bright side of this move.  Mom, though, she can’t help but show the worry on her face.  She sure wasn’t happy with this move, but what could we do?

Screenshot-4

This here is our new place.  It’s kind of boxy, don’t you think?  Mom hates it.  Dad says it has potential.  You might be wondering how we could afford such a substantial spread here in Twinbrook when we lost everything in Riverview.  Well that’s a legitimate question.  See, Twinbrook is one of those places that is sort of growing right now.  It’s trying to change from being a backwater slum to a decent place to come live.  We don’t live on the nice end of town to be frank.

Screenshot-8 Screenshot-9

See what I mean?  This is what you can see from the back of our spread.  The junkyard is on one side.  You don’t want to hear what Mom said about the dilapidated cars junked down in the ravine!  The broken bridge is on the other side.  They made a newer bridge on the nicer side of town, but they haven’t gotten to fixing up this one yet.

Screenshot-7

Well anyway, we set out to starting our farm all over again.  That’s another reason we got such a great deal on the land.  Twinbrook is mostly swamp, you know.  Not a lot of farmland like in Riverview.  There aren’t many farmers here either, so we got a sort of land grant to set up shop here and supply the local groceries.  Twinbrook is trying to cash in on the whole organic food craze.  They gave us a great deal on this spread, but we can only keep it if we farm it.

Screenshot-11 Screenshot-12

We all pitched in to start the initial plots.  You might be wondering where we got the seeds.  We didn’t have anything but this house and land when we got here.  In order to get seeds, the town of Twinbrook invited us to harvest whatever we could from their local garden.  It was free to anyone—part of that organic thing they were attempting.

Screenshot-29

I think Dad had heart palpitations when he saw the community garden for the first time.  It was so beautiful and yet such a waste, too.  All those plants were practically rotting on the vine.  No one had harvested for ages.  I don’t think the citizens of Twinbrook have really taken to this gardening craze as much as the political leaders want them to.

Screenshot-27

So we went in and took whatever we could.  We used whatever we had to for food, but the rest we were able to replant in our own garden.

Screenshot-31 

While Dad and I were in the community garden, Mom took to exploring the town.  She would normally have been helping us, but she wanted to see the sights a little bit.  See told us that she visited probably the sorriest beach she’d ever seen.  It was terribly rocky and had only old picnic benches for people to sit on.  There was an old gazebo nearby, but it was hardly worth noting, or so Mom thought.  She was used to the more picturesque Gazebo in Riverview.

Screenshot-36

There was a decent library, though.  Mom said a book group met their regularly and she had plans to join them.  I know Mom was missing her friends and neighbors in Riverview.

Screenshot-34 Screenshot-35

Mom said she’d met some interesting ladies at the library.  She wasn’t so forward to have asked if they were single, but I’m sure that she probably mentioned that she had a single son of marriageable age.  She used to do that all the time in Riverview.  She wanted me to marry and start a family so she could have grandbabies.  There had never been time to date much in Riverview because I was working so hard on the farm.  I was hoping that I’d find the time to meet someone nice here, but not until things were more settled.  I wanted kids almost as badly as Mom wanted me to have them, but the farm came first…at least for now.

Screenshot-13

One of the first things I discovered about our new property was a fairly decent waterhole down in the ravine behind the house.  I was glad because this meant that I could fish for my own fertilizer instead of buying it from the grocery or getting it from a professional fisherman.

Screenshot-38 Screenshot-39

And so we all settled into a bit of routine after awhile.  Dad puttered around the house tinkering with the appliances and Mom kept busy keeping up with the house chores.  We all worked the land together.  I figured it wouldn’t be too long before I could have some free time to go see about finding someone with whom to have those grandbabies Mom wanted. 

Screenshot-43

That’s when tragedy struck.  Mom was getting breakfast out of the fridge when she suddenly dropped her plate and then clutched at her chest.  It happened so fast.  One minute she was talking about her pancakes while dad was cleaning up his dishes and the next she was gone.

Screenshot-47

I didn’t even know something was wrong.  I was out back in the garden because I had wanted to get an early start so that I could go out about town after I finished harvesting.  I didn’t even hear the commotion.

Screenshot-51

We buried Mom in our backyard.  We figured that she didn’t know Twinbrook enough to be comfortable resting in the cemetery and we didn’t want to part from her to send her back to Riverview. 

Screenshot-53

Dad and I had a private funeral.  We didn’t know anyone in town to invite them.

Screenshot-57  Screenshot-58 Screenshot-59

Things around the farm were pretty strained for awhile.  Dad and I struggled to keep it together.  I found myself needing to get away from it all, so I took to jogging around the neighborhood.

Screenshot-61

I found myself visiting various places around town like the art gallery and the gym.  I met a few townspeople, but not all of them were friendly.  In fact, some were quite disdainful when they discovered we were the farming family who were living out on the edge of town and had no technology or anything like that at our house (Dad and I both think that technology is what ruins people’s lives).

Screenshot-62

Dad was a wreck with Mom gone.  He refused to eat anything except the leftovers she had in the fridge.  I didn’t know what he would do when the last plate was gone.  I feared what would happen if any of it spoiled.  Dad didn’t know how to cook and I wasn’t that much better, though.  Mom had always cooked for us.

Screenshot-67 I tried to get dad interested in other things to take his mind off his grief.  I showed him the water hole.  I kept up a string of light conversation for quite some time, but I knew dad was thinking about Mom.  He never smiled.

Screenshot-68 Screenshot-69

But we went back the next day and the next until finally things were easy between us again.  We were talking and I brought up the fact that even though I want a family pretty bad, I wasn’t sure I could go through the heartbreak of losing my loved one.  Dad was quick to respond.  He said, “Son, don’t let grief be what holds you back.  Death comes to all, but love only comes to those who reach for it.”  Then he went on to say that he didn’t mind grieving for Mom.  Grieving was a good thing for people to do.  It showed how much they had loved.  My dad was a very wise man.

Screenshot-72

Soon after our talk, Dad and I had finally managed to catch up with all the work we had let slide in the gardens.  I was proud to say that we were starting to make a profit on the farm.  After the last set of bills, we even had money left over.

Screenshot-74

But Dad and I weren’t destined to celebrate our success together.  I think Dad knew his time was nearly over.  He often looked up in the sky and I think he even held conversations with Mom up in Heaven.  At least he passed in the garden doing what he loved.

Screenshot-76

Of course I rushed right over to see if I could prevent his death, but Dad’s face was peaceful and almost smiling when I got to him.  It was his time and he had been happy to go.

Screenshot-78 I buried him next to Mom.  Then I threw myself into the labor of the farm because I knew he would want me to do nothing else.

Screenshot-82

Instead of having a lonely funeral by myself, though, I did what I think Mom would have wanted me to do.  I invited every acquaintance I had made over to our house.  It was a hard thing to do because none of them had really known my parents and they didn’t know me very well either.

Screenshot-86

I ordered pizza and even asked the driver to stay awhile, but all these people in my house didn’t do anything for my grief.  What could they do?

Screenshot-88

But they weren’t indifferent to me.  One, Milly Pidgen, even hugged me and let me cry on her shoulder a little bit.  She sort of reminded me of mom…sort of.

 Screenshot-89 Screenshot-90

And then the most extraordinary thing happened.  She showed up to the party.  She was looking for her mother, Milly.  She had also heard about my parents and came to offer her condolences.  Her name was Dilly.

Screenshot-91

I think maybe my parents were looking down on me that night.  They knew how much I wanted a family and how much I wanted someone to share my life in the same way that they had shared theirs.  Dilly.  I think she is the ONE.

AUTHOR’S NOTE:

Just so people don’t complain that I started this family with a lot of cheats, let me explain what I did to set all of this up.  I did cheat to get the family into this house; however, once they were in it, I went through and took out all of the technology except for a cheap radio.  I got rid of all decorative items and then I reduced the family’s money to $50 using the familyFunds cheat. 

All of the Sims were made in CAS so they had no skills to start with which meant that they all pretty much suck at gardening.  Twinbrook does have a huge community garden, which is where I got all of the produce and the family garden grew quite rapidly as did the two men’s skill in gardening.  I sold most of the produce right away and was able to purchase a few things to give the family more to do.

I used Twallan’s mod to kill off both of Les’ parents at different points so that he would be alone when I officially started the legacy.  Only one Sim week has really passed since they all moved in, so any time passing that I wrote into the prologue is my own narration.

Finally, all of the guests at the funeral were Sims that Les had met in town.  Dilly is also one of the townies.  I did do some cosmetic editing for her as well as making her a young adult instead of an adult.   Had Les actually encountered any single young adults, I wouldn’t have picked her for the story.  But, she’s a good fit as she is a vegetarian and a bookworm.  She isn’t a technophobe, but her other traits are also compatible.  Les has just met her, so they only have acquaintance status.  We’ll have to wait and see if he’s successful in wooing her or if he ends up with someone else and always pines after her.

BTW, Les’ LTW is to be surrounded by family.  I elected not to give him the perfect garden LTW.  Dilly’s LTW is to be super popular.

About hrootbeer

I am a teacher, writer, rpg player, and Sim 3 addict.
This entry was posted in Generation One: Farmer. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to The Twinbrook Fields: Prologue

  1. Rad says:

    Mozzy! *Waves to her pizza lady*

    This is a great start and I’m really looking forward to your take on this challenge.

  2. FortA says:

    I loved it! And I certainly wouldn’t have complained about “cheating” – I’ve certainly edited somethings for my DitFT; I think we writers have a “creative license” to tweak the game as we see fit 🙂

    I like Les, and I love the last name. Isn’t “les” French for “the?” So, like, “the fields?” Or am I sadly wrong?

    Great job – can’t wait to see where this goes!!

    FortA

    • hrootbeer says:

      Les is French for “the”. However, when I gave him that name I intended it to be short for Lester. His dad is Chester and his mom was Loretta.

      It was purely unintentional to have his name be “the” Fields. I could lie and claim that it was deliberate, though. That would make me sound much more clever than I really am. Obviously you are clever to realize it 🙂

  3. emmacrs says:

    nice start, can’t wait to read more..

  4. antsims3 says:

    I really love the prologue! I really like Les, and his story. His personality seems great! His name is very creative “Les Fields” meaning the fields. Don’t worry about cheating, alot of writer have to change the game a bit for the purpose of the story.

    Can’t wait for more! Great job! 😀

    http://halliwellfamilylegacy.wordpress.com

  5. Good start. As for cheating well we all have our creative spin on things after all in my Dift I have events mapped out time wise through years when obviously most of it is merely a few sim days. So I say tweak and spin away!

    Oh and cant wait for you to continue.

  6. styxlady says:

    “Death comes to all, but love only comes to those who reach for it.” That was so very poignant and true! Les’s dad was very sweet. Poor guy, to lose both his parents right after moving to a new town. Now he really is on his own.

    I loved your prologue, and I can’t wait to read more about Les and Dilly!

  7. tesseracta says:

    I’m excited to begin reading your take on this challenge. I don’t think you were cheating or giving yourself any unfair advantages.

    • hrootbeer says:

      Thanks. I don’t much care about points as much as story, but I didn’t want to give an advantage either. Part of the challenge is the poverty.

  8. FortA says:

    Oh, and thanks for the recognition in your “About” page! I’m glad that out of all the time I’ve spent on my blogs, at least one inspired you! 🙂 I’m honored!

    FortA

  9. Morbid_Mew says:

    Awesome start! Poor Les. Dealing with moving to an entirely new town, then having to struggle with the garden and losing his parents is extraordinarily difficult so I feel for him. I really can’t wait to see where you go with this. His parents seemed like very good people and Les seems like he’s a good guy. 🙂

    And no worries about ‘cheating’. I think we all mess around with the game to get certain shots or to certain events in our stories. 🙂

  10. All I want to know is. . . . How did Grimmy get corrected? He’s in the robes!!! That must be different for you. I’m already in love with this new one Hroot. Oh and I love the name Les, that was my uncle’s name.

    • hrootbeer says:

      You’ve got to realize that I played and wrote this prologue back in July before Grimmy got broken. I have no idea if he’s still working properly in Twinbrook. Maybe I will need to kill someone else. He’s still broken in my Kendrick game.

      • Rad says:

        If it helps, last time I saw him in my WYDC he was in clothes, but in Dayes he’s in his robes as usual, so it’s probably to do with a specific saved game.

  11. tipix7 says:

    It’s nice to see some background history on the family before the challenge’s start. I can’t wait to see how this challenge pans out!

  12. carebear728 says:

    Seems like a great start. i love the background history. I’m going to add you to my blogroll, excited to see how this goes

  13. Teresa says:

    Great start. I am looking forward to future updates.

  14. audiobebop says:

    Found this after poking around on a few legacies, an awesome start and I definitely plan to keep reading! 😀

  15. Pingback: 2010 in review | The Twinbrook Fields

  16. This is an excellent start, very original! And I love that his parents were with him at the beginning, very sad to lose them before they could see the farm be successful, though. 😦

    Will definitely be reading more!

Leave a Reply

